Frances Yancey Smith
Founding Member of Zeta Tau Alpha

frances smith

On October 15, 1898, Zeta Tau Alpha Fraternity was founded at the Virginia State Female Normal School in Farmville, Virginia, now Longwood College. The founders were nine special women who came together to form a Greek-letter organization to perpetuate the friendships they found so important.

On March 15, 1902, Zeta Tau Alpha was the first women’s fraternity to be chartered in the state of Virginia. The Fraternity holds the only charter ever granted by a special act of the Virginia state legislature.

The nine founders were:
1. Maud Jones Horner
2. Alice Bland Coleman
3. Ethel Coleman Van Name
4. Ruby Leigh Orgain
5. Frances Yancey Smith
6. Della Lewis Hundley
7. Helen M. Crafford
8. Alice Grey Welsh
9. Mary Jones Batte